The University Lecture Committee presents our 2023 - 2024 Distinguished Lecture Award:

John Green

John Green

Date: April 18th, 2024
Time: 7:30 pm
Location: Iowa Memorial Union Main Lounge
Tickets: First Come, First Serve

John Green is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper Towns, The Fault in Our Stars, and Turtles All the Way Down. He is also the coauthor, with David Levithan, of Will Grayson, Will Grayson. He was the 2006 recipient of the Michael L. Printz Award, a 2009 Edgar Award winner, and has twice been a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Green’s books have been published in more than 55 languages and over 24 million copies are in print.

In June 2014, the movie adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars was released, directed by Josh Boone, produced by Fox 2000 and Temple Hill, and starring Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, and Nat Wolff. The screenplay was written by Scott Neustadter and Michael Weber, who went on to adapt Paper Towns for film. Fox 2000 and Temple Hill released Paper Towns in the summer of 2015, starring Nat Wolff, Cara Delevingne, Justice Smith, Austin Abrams, Halston Sage, and Jaz Sinclair. In the second half of 2015, John signed a first look production deal with Fox 2000. The limited series adaptation of Looking for Alaska was released on Hulu on October 18th, 2019 starring Kristine Froseth, Charlie Plummer, and Denny Love. A Netflix adaptation of Let It Snow was released on November 8th, 2019 starring Isabela Merced, Shameik Moore, Kiernan Shipka, Odeya Rush, Liv Hewson, Joan Cusack, Mitchell Hope and more.

John Green will receive Distinguished Lecture award from the University Lecture Committee.